Direkt zum Inhalt



Simulation is an essential tool to manage the complexity of modern energy systems and to define effective solutions for planning, designing and operating energy systems. Energy systems are expected to include electricity, gas, and heat networks - to maximize the use of all available forms of energy - and to include storage capacity. The distributed nature of new resources (generation and storage) and the participation of loads in energy management require fast, reactive control and protection. In this context, it is expected that the monitoring and control of modern energy systems will be characterized by the distribution of functions. At the same time, a large use of communication media is envisioned.  

The interactions between continuous dynamics and discrete events are becoming more relevant due to the increasing number of controllable devices (e.g., power electronic converters in power grids) and the use of networked control systems. In addition, power systems are increasingly driven by market competition, and the impact on system operation should also be considered. In this context, several research groups have developed modelling and simulation solutions to address these challenges, and they have disseminated their software using an open-source approach. The workshop will address all aspects related to the use and development of open source tools for power and energy systems modelling and simulation. The main objective of the workshop is to foster discussion on these topics among experts from academia, industry and utilities.  

The OSMSES workshop brings together component and system manufacturers, power grid operators, energy suppliers, and research institutions.

This year, we co-host the conference altogether with the Symposium Communications for Energy Systems (ComForEn) 2024.


The main topics (but not limited to) on which the workshop is intended to provide a qualified forum for contributions to the advancement of knowledge include those listed below:

  • Electromagnetic transient simulation
  • Dynamic phasor simulation 
  • Electromechanical transient simulation 
  • Load flow-based energy systems analysis 
  • Real-time simulation 
  • Equation-based modelling 
  • Modeling of multi-energy vector systems
  • Co-simulation of energy systems 
  • Data & AI/ML-based modelling 
  • Building simulation 
  • Gas and thermal grid simulation 
  • Open models & metamodeling 
  • Visualization & data/results representation 
  • Innovate energy system applications 
  • Data space applications 
  • Open energy architectures & frameworks 

Submission Guidelines

Authors must adhere to the IEEE conference written paper format (including paper title, authors and affiliations, figures, and references) and they must submit the draft version of the paper for review before the due submission deadlines (see dates above). These are submitted through the EasyChair submission system (see link above). IEEE is very strict about the requirements for PDF files for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library. We strongly recommend using the set of templates in MS Word and LaTeX format provided by IEEE. A4 page size should be used. Please use them to create your paper, but don’t modify the style or the format under any circumstances.

Submit only original work, not previously published or copyrighted. Prospective authors are expected to submit only their original works. The conference will be using the CrossCheck automated screening system to help verify the originality of papers. Submitted works may be compared to over 20 million articles in databases worldwide. Papers that violate IEEE’s publication principles may be summarily rejected. If the violation is deemed severe, then disciplinary actions may also be taken by IEEE. For further details please have a look at the Conference Authors @ IEEE Author Center.

Accepted and presented papers will be copyrighted to IEEE and published in conference proceedings, which will be eligible for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore® Digital Library, once it meets the requirements of an IEEE quality review.

Organizing Committee

General Chair
Thomas I. Strasser (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology & Technische Universität Wien, Austria) 

General Co-chairs
Andrea Benigni (Forschungszentrum Jülich & RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
Antonello Monti (RWTH Aachen University & Fraunhofer FIT, Germany) 

Technical Program Chairs
Thiemo Pesch (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany)
Filip Pröstl Andrén (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology) 

Finance Chair
Roman Eichinger (OVE Austrian Electrotechnical Association, Austria)  
Christian Gassers (OVE Austrian Electrotechnical Association, Austria)  

Tutorial Chairs
Veit Hagenmeyer (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
Stefan Wilker (Technische Universität Wien, Austria) 

Publicity Chairs
Peter Palensky (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
Friederich Kupzog (AIT Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria) 

Technical Program Committee

More details are provided soon ...